sportkingston - The authoritative source for Golden Gaels football and Kingston Area high school sports

sportkingston Staff

Claude Scilley
Brought To You By

Kingston Paint & Decorating
DCSun Internet Technologies
Thank You To All Our Generous Supporters!
We Need Your Help Too!
Help Support This Site
Site Information

About This Site

Contact Us

Home > Articles > CIS Football > Western dominates OUA football all-stars; two Gaels, Mitch O'Connor named to second team

Western dominates OUA football all-stars; two Gaels, Mitch O'Connor named to second team

Posted: November 11th, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Eight members of the regular-season champion Western Mustangs have been named to the Ontario University Athletics football all-star team, which was announced Wednesday.

Quarterback Will Finch, who led the Mustangs as they became the highest-scoring team in the history of Canadian university football—491 points in eight games—was named to the team for the second time in three years. He was also the all-star quarterback in 2013, the year he was named the league’s most valuable player.

This year Finch completed 69.5 per cent of his passes, for 2,616 yards and 17 touchdowns.

That he was able to do so can in large part be attributed to three Western offensive linemen who were named all-stars for the second time in their career—centre Matt Van Praet, guard Sean Jamieson and tackle Eddie Meredith.

Others repeating as first-team OUA all-stars are Wilfrid Laurier running back Dillon Campbell, Western cornerback Josh Woodman, Guelph tackle Matthew Toppan, and receives Danny Vandervoort of McMaster and Nate Behar of Carleton.

Altogether, the first all-star team comprises eight players from Western, five from Guelph, four each from Laurier, McMaster and Carleton and one each from Ottawa, Toronto and Windsor.

No members of the Queen’s Golden Gaels, York Lions or Waterloo Warriors were recognized as a first-team all-star, though receiver Doug Corby and punter Dillon Wamsley of Queen’s were chosen for the second team.

Also on the second all-star team are former Kingston Grenadiers quarterback Derek Wendel of Shannonville, who broke the conference records for pass completions (216) and yards passing (3,136) for the Ottawa Gee-Gees this year—he shared the second-team spot with McMaster’s Asher Hastings—and Mitch O’Connor, a graduate of the Frontenac Falcons in his second year at McMaster, who was selected the rush-cover, a position created to recognize the efforts of special teams defenders.

The OUA’s major award winners will be announced at a news conference Thursday in Burlington. The 108th Yates Cup game, pitting Western, 8-0, against Guelph, 7-1, will be played Saturday in London. The winner will host a national semifinal the following week against the champion of the Quebec conference.

The 2015 OUA football all-stars:



Centre—Matt Van Praet, Western.

Guards—Zach Intzandt, McMaster; Sean Jamieson, Western.

Tackles—Matthew Toppan, Guelph; Eddie Meredith, Western.

Receivers—Danny Vandervoort, McMaster; Ian Stewart, Ottawa; Jacob Scarfone, Guelph; Nate Behar, Carleton.

Fullback—Tom Marshall, Western.

Running back—Dillon Campbell, Laurier.

Quarterback—Will Finch, Western.


Tackles—Rupert Butcher, Western; Asante Mizan, Laurier.

Ends—Kwaku Boateng, Laurier; Mike Kashak, McMaster.

Linebackers—John Rush, Guelph; Jake Heathcote, McMaster; Matt Gayer, Windsor.

Safety—Jesse McNair, Western.

Halfbacks—Nick Parisotto, Guelph, Nathaniel Hamlin, Carleton.

Cornernbacks—Godfrey Onyeka, Laurier; Josh Woodman, Western.

Special Teams

Punter—T.J. Morton, Toronto.

Kicker—Gabriel Ferraro, Guelph.

Return man—Tunde Adeleke, Carleton.

Rush-cover—Keith Graham, Carleton.



Centre—Matthew Nesbitt, Guelph.

Guards—Andrew Pickett, Guelph; K.C. Bakker, Carleton.

Tackles—Kadeem Adams, Western; Sean Smith, McMaster.

Receivers—Dan Petermann, McMaster; Doug Corby, Queen’s; George Johnson, Western; Kurleigh Gittens, Jr., Laurier.

Fullback—Stefano Napolitano, Carleton.

Running back—Alex Taylor, Western.

Quarterbacks—Asher Hastings, McMaster; Derek Wendel, Ottawa (tie).


Tackles—Donnie Egerter, Guelph; Kevin Aleinki, McMaster.

Ends—John Biewald, Western; Mark Mackie, McMaster.

Linebackers—Curtis Newton, Guelph; Nakas Onyeka, Laurier; Guillaume Caron, Carleton.

Safety—Tristan Doughlin, Guelph.

Halfbacks—Malcolm Brown, Western; Malcolm Thompson, Laurier.

Cornerbacks—Robbie Yochim, McMaster; D’Sean Thelwell, Carleton.

Special Teams

PunterDillon Wamsley, Queen’s.

Kicker—Michael Domagala, Carleton.

Return man—Ryan Nieuwesteeg, Guelph.

Rush-coverMitch O’Connor, McMaster.




Related Articles:

Support sportkingston

Thank You To All Our Generous Supporters!
We Need Your Help Too!
Help Support This Site
Follow sportkingston

Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Twitter
Recent Stories

He coached young men, not just football players
All done
Queen's athletes win major volleyball awards
To buy or not to buy
QE splits two games at EOSSAA single-A basketball
KC downs Frontenac in EOSSAA basketball final
Weekend defeats send Gaels to preliminary playoff round
Queen's to host men's basketball playoff Wednesday
High school volleyball matches tonight at Regi
EOSSAA will try again to play basketball Tuesday

Amateur Sport



CIS Football

Cross Country


Field hockey


Frontenacs 50th

Grenadiers Football

High School Sports


Intercollegiate Sport

Junior Hockey

Kingston Kings


Napanee Express


Pan Am Games

Queen's football

RMC Looking Back





Today In Jr. Hockey Playoff History

Track and field



Looking for a specific article, person, event, or subject?

Management Login

Powered By FlexCMS
Powered By FlexCMS